Bangladesh v Australia: Group A, Match 5

Bangladesh v Australia: Group A, Match 5

Bangladesh’s Tamim Iqbal (left) in action during the ICC Champions Trophy, Group A match between Australia and Bangladesh at The Oval in London.

Australia reached 83-1 to close to within 100 runs of a comfortable victory over Bangladesh, only for bad weather to abandon play and force them to settle for a point.

That, obviously, cannot happen again as far as Australia are concerned and Smith is confident his bowlers, in particular, can bounce back with a solid performance against Bangladesh.

“I think they did the best job they could…you’ve got to do what the umpires say”.

“We are all a lot happier with where we are, especially Josh (Hazlewood) and I not playing through the IPL period, to get that time out there to get the rhythm back”, he said.

Australia had travelled down from Birmingham, where they played their first game against New Zealand, and the squad and support staff were in their hotel in west London when the attack was taking place in London Bridge.

The fans from both the sides are hoping for a dominating display from their respective teams with the aim of registering crucial points that would push their teams higher up in the group standings.

Australia vs Bangladesh is scheduled for a 1.30pm BST, 6pm IST, 10.30pm AEDT, 6.30pm Bangladesh time start.

Tamim eventually fell to the imperious Mitchell Starc, who claimed three wickets in four balls and finished with four for 29.

Twenty overs needed to be bowled for a result to stand under the Duckworth/Lewis system and Australia would have been well ahead of the 48 runs required, for the loss of one wicket, under a rain-affected target.

Unfortunately for Australia, who bowled out Bangladesh for 182, the rain became heavier and the match was called off at 2019 GMT. England launched the tournament, which features the world’s top eight one-day teams, with an eight-wicket win over Bangladesh at The Oval on Thursday.

Warner was especially aggressive, pulling one tame delivery from Mashrafe Mortaza off his hip and away to the fence in a flash. For Bangladesh, a win would mean they stay alive in the tournament and for Australia a win would mean they take a step in the right direction for the knockouts. Their next match against Australia was abandoned due to rain.